Formed in Santa Cruz, California in 2014, Drain is a Hardcore band featuring vocalist Sammy Ciaramitaro, guitarist Cody Chavez, and drummer Tim Flegal. Along with former bassist Justin Rhode, the group – not to be confused with the Butthole Surfers’ King Coffey’s band of the same name –  built up a local following thanks to their live performances that were the cornerstone of Santa Cruz Hardcore scene that they helped build. Along with the band’s heavy yet melodic sound, Drain’s enthusiastic attitude has been infectious and is one of the many reasons that audiences are drawn to them. However, the songs are what encourage listeners to keep coming back for more…

Drain released their first demo, DEMO ’15, digitally before issuing their debut EP, OVER THINKING, in 2016. Their audience began to grow outside of Santa Cruz and their 2017 EP release, TIME ENOUGH AT LAST, was enthusiastically embraced by both their loyal followers and a new legion of fans. However, the group come to prominence in 2020 with the release of their debut full-length album CALIFORNIA CURSED. With the release of the album, the group’s fanbase grew and their music began to resonate with listeners who may have never even heard of Santa Cruz before. With the band being hands on with everything at their shows – from running the merch stand to managing the influx of stage divers – Drain has become one of the most relatable bands in Hardcore today.

Drain signed to Epitaph Records – the iconic Punk label founded by Bad Religion’s Brett Gurewitz – and have just released their sophomore album LIVING PROOF. Produced by Taylor Young and mixed by Jon Markson, LIVING PROOF is a powerhouse of an album that lives up to expectations… and then some. While the Sammy Ciaramitaro may always seem to have a smile on his face, don’t let that lead you to believe that their music walks on the sunny side of the street. This is gut-crunching, head-thumping, fist-pumping Hardcore that is bound to push the band’s popularity further into the stratosphere. They’ve already released a few tracks – “FTS (KYS),” “Watch You Burn,” “Evil Finds Light,” and “Good Good Things” – but those are just the tip of the iceberg. Prepare to be smashed to a pulp once you hit the play button. That’s not a warning, it’s an invitation!



Available NOW!