The New Pornographers is an Indie Pop collective formed in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada in 1997. Founded by vocalist/guitarist Carl Newman (A.C. Newman), vocalist Neko Case (Maow, Cub, The Corn Sisters), vocalist/guitarist Dan Bejar (Destroyer, Hello Blue Roses, and Swan Lake), keyboardist Blaine Thurier, bassist John Collins (The Evaporators, Destroyer), and drummer Fisher Rose (Destroyer, A.C. Newman), the group has achieved both commercial and critical success since the release of their debut album, MASS ROMANTIC, in 2000. Although The New Pornographers’ line-up has changed over the years, the core members of the band remain Newman, Case, and Collins, who are now joined by lead guitarist Todd Fancey (Limblifter), Kathryn Calder (Immaculate Machine, Frontperson), and drummer Joe Seiders (Beat Club). Although each member of the group is also known for other musical projects outside of The New Pornographers, when they come together, they create a sound that is distinctly their own.

With the release of their debut album, MASS ROMANTIC (2000), the group caught the attention of music critics and fans alike. While their popularity coincided with the rise of other Indie Rock favorites such as The Decemberists, Animal Collective, Arcade Fire, Death Cab for Cutie, The Postal Service, Bright Eyes, Spoon, and others, The New Pornographers’ dedication to classic Pop hooks set them apart from all the others. They followed their debut with the album ELECTRIC VERSION (2003), which reached #12 on Billboard’s Independent Albums chart. 2005’s TWIN CINEMA was even more successful, landing in the Top 50 on the Billboard 200 and #5 on the Indie Albums chart. The group achieved international success with the albums CHALLENGES (2007), TOGETHER (2010), and BRILL BRUISERS (2014) all charting overseas. More critical success followed with albums such as WHITEOUT CONDITIONS (2017), and IN THE MORSE CODE OF BRAKE LIGHTS (2019).

The New Pornographers return in 2023 with CONTINUE AS A GUEST, their ninth studio album and their first in four years. Work on the album began after the band finished touring and promoting IN THE MORSE CODE OF BRIGHT LIGHTS. Conceived during the dark days of the COVID-19 pandemic, CONTINUE AS A GUEST is an album filled with enough melodic hooks to distract you from the dark underbelly of the songs. A dense and layered album, this is a recording that showcases a group of very talented individuals who all contribute their unique talents to create something special. Peel away those layers and you’ll discover exciting musical elements from catchy bass riffs to keyboard flourishes, and guitar hooks to Newman and Case’s melodic harmonies. Tracks “Really Really Light,” “Pontius Pilate’s Home Movies,” and “Angelcover” may already be capturing the hearts of critics and fans, but there are more gems to be found on the album including the soon-to-be-classic “Bottle Episodes.” While CONTINUE AS A GUEST is not a shimmering, sunshiny Pop album, it has more heart and spirit than you could ever hope for. And that is most certainly needed these days…



Available NOW!